top of page


Students and young adults make up the largest block of voters in Canada. This federal election vote for the things that matter to you!

It's easy to vote. We'll show you how.

Get on it. There aren't many days left!

Register to vote

If you're not already registered this is the first step. To vote, you must be a Canadian citizen, be at least 18 years old on election day and prove your identity and address. Registering to vote is simple and there are a couple of ways to do so!

Register in Advance

  • To register in advance, you need to contact Elections Canada and they'll mail you a couple of forms that you’ll need to fill out before receiving a ballot by mail. You can also register at any Elections Canada office by Tuesday September 14th, by 6:00 PM

Register at the Voting Place

  • You can register at your assigned polling station on Advance Polling Days or on Voting Day!


Register Online



  • If you are in need of any additional assistance, you can always contact Elections Canada at 1-800-463-6868. The hours of operations for Elections Canada are 7:00 AM to midnight (Eastern Standard Time), everyday.

[Back to the Top]


How to vote

There are lots of ways to cast your vote so pick the method that works best for you. There are COVID-19 measures are in place to keep you safe, no matter how you choose to vote, so don't hesitate to make your voice heard. Don't forget that during the pandemic, things can take a bit more time, so be sure to plan early.

Vote at an Advance Poll 

  • You can vote at your assigned Voting Places from 9:00 AM to 9:00 PM on: 

    • Friday, September 10th

    • Saturday, September 11th 

    • Sunday, September 12th

    • Monday, September 13th


Be sure to know the difference between federal and provincial voting


Vote by Special Ballot 

  • To vote by the Special Ballot Process, you will need to apply by Tuesday, September 14th, at 6:00 PM or visit any Elections Canada office on Advanced Voting days or on Voting day!

  • The special ballot will not have a list of candidates to choose from. Instead, there will be a blank space for you to write the name of the candidate who you are voting for. 

    Once you have applied, you must vote by special ballot and you can’t change your mind. For more information on the special ballot process, visit Elections Canada for more information 


Vote by Mail

  • To vote by mail, be sure to apply online or at any Elections Canada office before Tuesday, September 14th, 6:00 PM to ensure you receive your ballot in the mail on time.

  1.  Apply to vote by mail as soon as possible. 

  2. Elections Canada then mails you a voting kit with spaces to write the name of the candidate you have decided to vote for on your ballot. 

  3. Mail in your completed ballots by the deadline indicated in your voting kits! Postage is prepaid by Elections Canada so you do not need to add a stamp!

Ballots that arrive after the deadline will not be counted, be sure to factor in how long it will take for your ballot to arrive by mail!

Vote at any Elections Canada Office before Tuesday, September 14th, at 6:00 PM

  • Elections Canada offices will be open seven days a week: 

    • Monday to Friday: 9:00 AM to 9:00 PM

    • Saturday: 9:00 AM to 6:00 PM 

    • Sunday: noon to 4:00 PM.

Vote on Election Day

  • Voting on election day can be done at your assigned Voting Places, Monday, September 20th, 2021. All polls will be open for 12 hours

    Hours may vary by time zone


[Back to the Top]


Pledge to vote

Coming soon!

[Back to the Top]

WHERE to vote

Visit the Elections Canada to find your Voting Place and other information.

[Back to the Top]


Important dates

Here are some key dates to remember:

  • September 14 - Deadline to apply for mail-in ballot

  • September 10, 11, 12, 13 - Advanced Voting open

  • September 20 - Election Day

[Back to the Top]


meet your local candidates

  • The University of British Columbia

    • Riding: Vancouver Quadra (British Columbia)

      • Conservatives: Brad Armstrong

      • Green: Dr. Devyani Singh

      • Liberal: Joyce Murray

      • NDP: Naden Abenes

      • PPC: Renate Siekmann


  • University of Ottawa

    • Riding: Ottawa Vanier (Ontario)

      • Conservatives: Heidi Jensen 

      • Liberal: Mona Fortier

      • PPC: Jean-Jacques Desgranges


  • McMaster University

    • Riding: Hamilton West-Ancaster-Dundas (Ontario)

      • Conservatives: Bert Laranjo

      • Green: Victoria Galea

      • Liberal: Filomena Tassi

      • NDP: Roberto Henriquez


  • University of Saskatchewan 

    • Riding: Saskatoon University (Saskatchewan)

      • Conservatives: Corey Tochor 

      • Green: North-Marie Hunter

      • Liberal: Dawn Dumont Walker

      • NDP: Claire Card

      • PPC: Guto Penteado

      • Communist: Jeremy Fisher


  • University of Toronto 

    • Riding: University-Rosedale (Ontario)

      • Conservatives: Steven Taylor

      • Green: Tim Grant

      • Liberal: Chrystia Freeland

      • NDP: Nicole Robicheau

      • PPC: David Kent


  • Queen's University 

    • Riding: Kingston and the Islands (Ontario)

      • Conservatives: Gary Oosterhof

      • Green: Dr. Waji Khan

      • Liberal: Mark Gerretsen

      • NDP: Vic Sahai

      • PPC: Shelleu Sayle-Udall


  • McGill University

    • Riding: Riding: Ville-Marie-Le Sud-Ouest-Île-des-Soeurs (Québec)   

      • Conservatives: Steve Shanahan

      • Green: Cynthia Charbonneau-Lavictoire

      • Liberal: Marc Miller

      • NDP: Sophie Thiébaut

      • PPC: Denise Dubé

      • Bloc: Soledad Orihuela-Bouchard


  • Western University

    • London North Centre

      • Conservatives: Sarah Bokhari

      • Green: Carol Dyck

      • Liberal: Peter Fragiskatos

      • NDP: Dirka U. Prout

      • PPC: Salim Mansur

  • Waterloo University

    • Waterloo (Ontario)

      • Conservatives: Meghan Shannon​

      • Green: Karla Villagomez Fajardo

      • Liberal: Bardish Chagger

      • NDP: Jonathan Cassels

      • PPC: Patrick Doucette

[Back to the Top]

bottom of page